The electric scooter is a more eco-friendly and cost-friendly way to travel in urban and residential areas as you move from place to place, contributing to a cleaner planet. However, as more and more people join the micro-mobility form of transport, it has become increasingly important to know what rules you need to abide by. The rules and regulations currently in place regarding electric scooters are not set in stone. They are subject to change as different States become accustomed to the idea of people using electric scooters as their primary source of transport. Laws regarding electric scooters were put into place to protect users of electric scooters and pedestrians and drivers using other modes of transportation. However, it can be challenging to understand what rules you should and should not follow. When it comes to electric scooters especially because electric scooters have not been recognized as a motor vehicle and thus falls under a whole new set of rules and regulations. A comprehensive guide was created to help guide you through the rules of the road regarding electric scooters and is as follows:
Is It Legal To Use A Electric Scooter?Yes, it is 100% legal to use an electric scooter as a mode of transport! Although if you are going to do so, it is crucial to adhere to the rules and regulations regarding electric scooters. When and how you ride your electric scooter is subject to these rules, you must know what these rules are.
Speed Limits For Electric ScootersThere are different speed limits for electric scooters as they govern the pace at which you can ride in other areas. The speed limits for electric scooters are as follows:
- 15 mph for electric scooters that are traveling in any public or bike road, according to some States
- 20 mph is the most common maximum speed for electric scooters to travel at
The Age RequirementThe minimum age for electric scooter riding varies from State to State, although the most common age agreed upon in the nation is 16 years old and above. States like Michigan and Minnesota have an age restriction of 12 and above to ride an electric scooter. You can get a restricted driver's license from the age of 16 and so it is easy to see why this is the most common age restriction in the nation. To ensure that you are of the appropriate age to be using an electric scooter, you need to ensure that you are abiding by your local and state laws. Although you should note that it is strongly suggested that you wear a helmet at all times, especially for riders under the age of 18, this law was extended to include the electric scooter and not just mopeds. Therefore, it is expected of you to take the necessary precautions. Even when riding a bicycle, ensuring your safety on the road should be one of your main priorities.
License and Registration RequirementsNorth Carolina is the only state that requires you to have a DMV registration to ride an electric scooter. However, this could change as the amount of micro-mobility accidents occurring have been increasing steadily. However, it was decided that you do need to have a license to ride an electric scooter in the following nine states:
- North Carolina